top of page
  • ramoncortoll

The Journey Begins

The Buried Lead is a journalistic term which has a negative connotation because the lead should never be buried. It should be contained in the first three paragraphs of the news story. The title of my blog is The Buried Lead as a reference to what is not obvious in the news stories or op-ed pieces of columnists. It is my personal analysis of news related to Philippine politics, which, as you well know, is full of twists and turns much like a teleserye. It is actually a politikaserye.

I have always wanted to become a writer but didn’t think that I could earn a decent income immediately. I decided to put it on the backburner while I pursued more gainful employment. An opportunity to write came in 1995 when a DLSU Com-Arts batchmate called to ask if I would be interested in becoming contributor for The Weekender, a broadsheet weekend magazine insert that Business World was developing. I said why not? This began my formal entry into the world of writing. Prior to this, I was an intern at the Philippines Daily Express in 1985. This was cut short by EDSA and the ouster of Marcos. I learned the ropes from my editor at the Daily Express, Rolly Fernandez. Unfortunately, the pieces I wrote then have been consigned to the dustbin as the Express morgue was forever lost in the confusion that accompanied Marcos’ ouster and the cronies flight from the country.

From my Business World days, I was only able to retrieve three pieces from their digital morgue. I created this WordPress account back in 2015, if I remember correctly, as it was in 2013 that I decided to polish off my writing skills again by posting my missives about articles I thought were interesting as part of my daily reading of favorite columnists and other online publications. I have gone on a long journey since then, from Facebook to Twitter. I find Twitter to be more of my home now because the level of discourse is more to my liking than with Facebook previously.

And so today, I dust off my WordPress account and will be posting articles here. I hope you will join me in this journey which will be limited by the length of my existence on this earth as I have turned the last corner in my life and I am now headed to the finish line.

Good company in a journey makes the way seem shorter. — Izaak Walton
post
0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page